Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Log in


You are here: Home / Kansas - Justice Reinvestment / Kansas Justice Reinvestment Working Group Members Named

Kansas Justice Reinvestment Working Group Members Named

by cherylca last modified Jul 06, 2012 08:41 AM
Established by HB 2684, the JR working group will review data analyses conducted by the Council of State Governments (CSG).
Kansas Justice Reinvestment Working Group Members Named

Governor Sam Brownback signed HB 2684 in June establishing an inter-branch, bipartisan working group to guide a comprehensive analysis of the state’s criminal justice system.

The State of Kansas initiated the Justice Reinvestment (JR) project in early 2012 through the Pew Center on the States and the U.S. Department of Justice’s Bureau of Justice Assistance to increase public safety, reduce recidivism and control corrections spending.  The JR working group is comprised of designees from the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government in addition to key criminal justice stakeholders. 

Sen. Tim Owens and Rep. Pat Colloton lead the working group with Secretary of Corrections Ray Roberts serving as vice chair.

Other distinguished individuals who have been appointed to the group include:

  • Annie Grevas, Director, 28th Judicial District Community Corrections
  • Senator David Haley, District 4
  • Robert Hinshaw, Sheriff, Sedgwick County
  • Donna Hoener-Queal, Chief Court Services Officer, 30th Judicial District
  • Steve Kessler, Director, Legal Services for Prisoners, Inc.
  • Ed Klumpp, Legislative Chair, Kansas Sheriffs Association/Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police
  • Representative Melody McCray-Miller, District 89
  • Peggy Lero, Northern Parole Region Director, Kansas Department of Corrections
  • Ellen Mitchell, County Attorney, Saline County
  • David Riggin, Chair, Prisoner Review Board
  • Jason Scheck, Director of Crisis Intervention Services, COMCARE of Sedgwick County
  • Libby Scott-Keogh, Director, Office of Victim Services, Kansas Department of Corrections
  • Kyle Smith, Deputy Director, Kansas Bureau of Investigations
  • Hon. David Stutzman, District Court Judge, 21st Judicial District

A growing number of states are using the Justice Reinvestment Initiative approach to analyze their criminal justice systems to reduce corrections spending and reinvesting in policy making that increases public safety.  In 2007, the Texas prison population was projected to grow by more than 14,000 people over a five-year period. After utilizing the Justice Reinvestment approach, state lawmakers enacted a comprehensive policy package that averted the anticipated growth and saved $443 million. They then reinvested $241 million of the savings to expand prevention programs. Since the enactment of the new policies, the prison population has stabilized allowing the state to cancel plans to build additional prisons for the foreseeable future. While these developments occurred, crime rates in nearly every major urban area in Texas declined.

Scheduled Work Group Meetings
September 5, Wednesday:   10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
November 14, Wednesday:   10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.


Document Actions