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65-536. Juvenile crisis intervention centers; requirements; premises; admission; treatment plans; rules and 

regulations; annual report; definitions. (a) A juvenile crisis intervention center is a facility that provides short-term 

observation, assessment, treatment and case planning, and referral for any juvenile who is experiencing a mental health 

crisis and is likely to cause harm to self or others. Such centers shall: 

(1) Address or ensure access to the broad range of services to meet the needs of a juvenile admitted to the center, 

including, but not limited to, medical, psychiatric, psychological, social and educational services; 

(2) not include construction features designed to physically restrict the movements and activities of juveniles, but shall 

have a design, structure, interior and exterior environment, and furnishings to promote a safe, comfortable and 

therapeutic environment for juveniles admitted to the center; 

(3) implement written policies and procedures that include the use of a combination of supervision, inspection and 

accountability to promote safe and orderly operations; and 

(4) implement written policies and procedures for staff monitoring of all center entrances and exits. 

(b) A juvenile crisis intervention center shall provide treatment to juveniles admitted to such center, as appropriate 

while admitted. 

(c) A juvenile crisis intervention center may be on the same premises as that of another licensed facility. If the juvenile 

crisis intervention center is on the same premises as that of another licensed facility, the living unit of the juvenile crisis 

intervention center shall be maintained in a separate, self-contained unit. No juvenile crisis intervention center shall be 

in a city or county jail or a juvenile detention facility. 

(d) (1) A juvenile may be admitted to a juvenile crisis intervention center when: 

(A) The head of such center determines such juvenile is in need of treatment and likely to cause harm to self or others; 

(B) a qualified mental health professional from a community mental health center has given written authorization for 

such juvenile to be admitted to a juvenile crisis intervention center; and 

(C) no other more appropriate treatment services are available and accessible to the juvenile at the time of admission. 

(2) A juvenile may be admitted to a juvenile crisis intervention center for not more than 30 days. A parent with legal 

custody or legal guardian of a juvenile placed in a juvenile crisis intervention center may remove such juvenile from the 

center at any time. If the removal may cause the juvenile to become a child in need of care pursuant to K.S.A. 2018 

Supp. 38-2202(d), and amendments thereto, the head of a juvenile crisis intervention center may report such concerns 

to the department for children and families or law enforcement or may request the county or district attorney to initiate 

proceedings pursuant to the revised Kansas code for care of children. If the head of a juvenile crisis intervention center 

determines the most appropriate action is to request the county or district attorney to initiate proceedings pursuant to the 

revised Kansas code for care of children, the head of such center shall make such request and shall keep such juvenile 

in the center for an additional 24-hour period to initiate the appropriate proceedings. 
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(3) When a juvenile is released from a juvenile crisis intervention center, the managed care organization, if the juvenile 

is a medicaid recipient, and the community mental health center serving the area where the juvenile is being discharged 

shall be involved with discharge planning. Within seven days prior to the discharge of a juvenile, the head of the juvenile 

crisis intervention center shall give written notice of the date and time of the discharge to the patient, the managed care 

organization, if the juvenile is a medicaid recipient, and the community mental health center serving the area where the 

juvenile is being discharged, and the patient's parent, custodian or legal guardian. 

(e) (1) Upon admission to a juvenile crisis intervention center, and if the juvenile is a medicaid recipient, the managed 

care organization shall approve services as recommended by the head of the juvenile crisis intervention center. Within 

14 days after admission, the head of the juvenile crisis intervention center shall develop a plan of treatment for the 

juvenile in collaboration with the managed care organization. 

(2) Nothing in this subsection shall prohibit the department of health and environment from administering or 

reimbursing state medicaid services to any juvenile admitted to a juvenile crisis intervention center pursuant to a waiver 

granted under section 1915(c) of the federal social security act, provided that such services are not administered through 

a managed care delivery system. 

(3) Nothing in this subsection shall prohibit the department of health and environment from reimbursing any state 

medicaid services that qualify for reimbursement and that are provided to a juvenile admitted to a juvenile crisis 

intervention center. 

(4) Nothing in this subsection shall impair or otherwise affect the validity of any contract in existence on July 1, 2018, 

between a managed care organization and the department of health and environment to provide state medicaid services. 

(5) On or before January 1, 2019, the secretary of health and environment shall submit to the United States centers for 

medicare and medicaid services any approval request necessary to implement this subsection. 

(f) The secretary for children and families, in consultation with the attorney general, shall promulgate rules and 

regulations to implement the provisions of this section on or before January 1, 2019. 

(g) The secretary for children and families shall annually report information on outcomes of juveniles admitted into 

juvenile crisis intervention centers to the joint committee on corrections and juvenile justice oversight, the corrections 

and juvenile justice committee of the house of representatives and the judiciary committee of the senate. Such report 

shall include: 

(1) The number of admissions, releases and the lengths of stay for juveniles admitted to juvenile crisis intervention 

centers; 

(2) services provided to juveniles admitted; 

(3) needs of juveniles admitted determined by evidence-based assessment; and 

(4) success and recidivism rates, including information on the reduction of involvement of the child welfare system 

and juvenile justice system with the juvenile. 

(h) The secretary of corrections may enter into memorandums of agreement with other cabinet agencies to provide 

funding, not to exceed $2,000,000 annually, from the evidence-based programs account of the state general fund or other 

available appropriations for juvenile crisis intervention services. 



(i) For the purposes of this section: 

(1) "Head of a juvenile crisis intervention center" means the administrative director of a juvenile crisis intervention 

center or such person's designee; 

(2) "Juvenile" means a person who is less than 18 years of age; 

(3) "likely to cause harm to self or others" means that a juvenile, by reason of the juvenile's mental disorder or mental 

condition is likely, in the reasonably foreseeable future, to cause substantial physical injury or physical abuse to self or 

others or substantial damage to another's property, as evidenced by behavior threatening, attempting or causing such 

injury, abuse or damage; 

(4) "treatment" means any service intended to promote the mental health of the patient and rendered by a qualified 

professional, licensed or certified by the state to provide such service as an independent practitioner or under the 

supervision of such practitioner; and 

(5) "qualified mental health professional" means a physician or psychologist who is employed by a participating 

mental health center or who is providing services as a physician or psychologist under a contract with a participating 

mental health center, a licensed masters level psychologist, a licensed clinical psychotherapist, a licensed marriage and 

family therapist, a licensed clinical marriage and family therapist, a licensed professional counselor, a licensed clinical 

professional counselor, a licensed specialist social worker or a licensed master social worker or a registered nurse who 

has a specialty in psychiatric nursing, who is employed by a participating mental health center and who is acting under 

the direction of a physician or psychologist who is employed by, or under contract with, a participating mental health 

center. 

(j) This section shall be part of and supplemental to article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and 

amendments thereto. 

History: L. 2018, ch. 107, § 1; July 1. 

 


