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POLICY STATEMENT

The Kansas Department of Corrections shall ensure that the juvenile correctional facility (JCF) and community
supervision agencies (CSA) work collaboratively in managing offenders within the custody of the Secretary of
Corrections, to facilitate admission to the JCF and in planning for conditional release and aftercare supervision.

DEFINITIONS

1600 Direct Commitment Record: A record containing information regarding the offender, committing court,
offense(s) and sentence, generated for all juvenile correctional facility admissions.

Community Supervision Agency (CSA): A local juvenile justice program operated by the administrative county
which provides services for offenders and their families when the offender is subject to court-ordered supervision
such as juvenile intensive supervised probation, court-ordered custody, interstate compact for juveniles, juvenile
correctional facility and conditional release.

Community Supervision Officer (CSO): Any employee of a community supervision agency whose job duties
include supervision of offender(s).

Conditional Release (CR): Release from a term of commitment in a juvenile correctional facility for an aftercare
term under conditions established by the Secretary.

Conditional Release Contract (CRC): An agreement between the releasing JCF, CSO and the offender being
released, establishing specific conditions the juvenile offender shall adhere to during their aftercare term.

Direct Commitment: The commitment of an offender/youthful offender to a juvenile correctional facility by a court.

Earliest Possible Release Date (EPRD): The earliest date an offender is eligible for release from a juvenile
correctional facility based on the placement matrix and good time earned.

Extended Juvenile Jurisdiction (EJJ): A term applied when an offender is sentenced to both a juvenile and adult
sentence. The adult sentence is stayed and the juvenile sentence is imposed. If the offender violates the juvenile
sentence, the offender must serve the adult sentence.

Juvenile Correctional Facility (JCF): A facility operated by the Secretary for the commitment of offenders/youthful
offenders. The most restrictive placement for offenders/youthful offenders which are intended to protect public
safety while providing programs that develop accountability and skill development for offenders/youthful offenders.
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Juvenile Correctional Facility (JCF) Electronic Database System: Electronic database system containing offender/
youthful offender information for those offenders sentenced to a juvenile correctional facility pursuant to the
Kansas juvenile code.

Offender: For the purpose of this policy is a person who commits an offense while 10 or more years of age but
less than 18 years of age which if committed by an adult would constitute the commission of a felony or
misdemeanor but does not include a person 14 or more years of age who commits a traffic offense, as defined in
subsection (d) of K.S.A. 8-2117, a person 16 years of age or over who commits an offense defined in chapter 32 of
the Kansas Statutes Annotated, a person under 18 years of age who previously has been convicted as an adult
under the Kansas criminal code; sentenced as an adult under the Kansas criminal code following termination of
status as an extended jurisdiction juvenile or convicted or sentenced as an adult in another state or foreign
jurisdiction under substantially similar procedures described in K.S.A. 38-2347, and amendments thereto, or
because of attaining the age of majority designated in that state or jurisdiction.

Kansas Criminal Justice Information System (KCJIS): A database which contains information about offenders
sentenced to the custody of the Secretary of Corrections, run by the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA): Kansas offender registration requirements for specific sex crimes, drug
crimes and violent crimes, intended to provide the public with information regarding convicted offenders who could
pose a threat to the safety of our families.

Kansas Offender Registration Form (KORF): Refers to the official form required by the Kansas Bureau of
Investigation (KBI) under the Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA).

National Crime Information Center (NCIC): A computerized index of criminal justice information such as: criminal
record history information; fugitives; stolen properties; and missing persons. It is available to federal, state, and
local law enforcement officials and other criminal justice agencies and is operational 24 hours a day, 365 days a
year.

Notice of Release (NOR): Notification of an offender’s release from a juvenile correctional facility, provided by the
superintendent, including the name of the offender, address upon release, contact person with whom the offender
will be residing upon release, anticipated date of release, anticipated date of enrollment in school, name and
phone number of case worker, crime or crimes of adjudication if not confidential based upon other statutes,
conditions of release and any other information deemed appropriate, submitted to the court and other persons,
agencies and educational institutions per Kansas law.

Reception and Diagnostic Unit (RDU): The Reception and Diagnostic Unit is part of the Kansas Juvenile
Correctional Complex (KJCC) where all offenders committed to a juvenile correctional facility are received for an
assessment, classification and appropriate placement based on significant risks and treatment needs.

Release Review: The review of an offender’s sentence by the admitting JCF and central office at least 30 days
prior to the offender’s release.

Youthful Offender: A juvenile who is less than 18 years of age at the time of sentencing, who has been prosecuted
and convicted as an adult or under a revoked extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution and has been placed in
the custody of the secretary.

PROCEDURES
. Juvenile Correctional Facility (JCF) Pre-Admission
A. Upon receipt of a certified copy of the complaint, journal entry of adjudication and journal entry of
disposition provided by the clerk of the committing court, the Secretary/designee shall review the

legal paperwork committing an offender to a juvenile correctional facility.

B. Any question(s) regarding the sentence ordered by the court shall be brought to the attention of
the KDOC Legal Division.
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A 1600 Direct Commitment Record shall be generated for all offenders sentenced to a juvenile
correctional facility (JCF) utilizing the 1600 Direct Commitment Application, and shall include the
offender’s name, admitting facility and admission date.

The Secretary/designee shall provide notification of the offender’'s admission date and admitting
facility to the committing court, admitting JCF, community supervision officer (CSO) and their
supervisor, within three (3) business days of receiving the required legal documents for the direct
commitment of the offender.

1. The committing court shall be notified through the clerk’s office via email a copy of the
offender’s 1600 Direct Commitment record.

2. The date of admission shall be no more than five (5) days after providing the court with
notice of the offender’s admission date.

The Secretary/designee shall notify the JCF of registration requirements for all offenders ordered
to register pursuant to the Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA).

Secretary/designee shall document offender registration requirements in the JCF electronic
database system, pursuant to KORA.

Prior to an offender's admission to a JCF, the Secretary/designee shall collect the following
documents from the CSO for submission to the Reception and Diagnostic Unit (RDU) and other
applicable staff utilizing the pre-admission information group e-mail listing:

1. Legal Documents
a. Restitution orders;
b. Plea bargains accepted;
C. Pending charges;
d. Special court orders specific to the juvenile offender concerning sentence,

programs, or associations; and

e. Revocation actions/
f. Pre-sentence investigation;
g. Copy of birth certificate; and
h. Copy of social security card.
2. Risk Management Information
a. Documentation of any suicide attempts;
b. Escape/runaway history;
C. Incidents of fire starting/arson;
d. Assault/battery risk;
e. Substance abuse use level(s);
f. Pregnancy (female offenders);

g. Sexual abuse history or sexual offenses as perpetrator;
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Prohibited and permitted associates/visitors contact information;
Police report(s) and affidavit for probable cause;
Previous Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) collection information; and

Fingerprint collection information (date collected and by who);

Medical Information

g.

Current medications and current medical care;

Any known official diagnosis;

Any known disabilities;

Family insurance data;

Immunization records;

Activity restrictions due to medical concerns and reasons why; and

Unusual medical conditions (organic-diabetic).

Additional Case History Information

a.

b.

h.

Past mental health diagnosis;

Prior psychological testing;

Pre-sentence disposition and diagnostic/evaluation reports;

Prior placement/treatment reports;

Gang affiliation information;

General social/family history;

Employment/work history;

Prior Department for Children and Families (DCF) custody information; and

School Records/Information.

Sex Offender Information

Sex offender evaluations;

Past mental health diagnosis;

Psychological evaluations;

Police reports;

Any assessments that pertain to the youth’s sex offense; and

Any documents clarifying the sexual offense the youth was adjudicated of.
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The detaining juvenile detention facility/jail may recommend the percentage of good time credit
received by offenders detained pending the disposition of their direct commit case, using the
Juvenile Detention Facility Good Time Recommendation form. (Attachment A)

1.

Good time credit shall be based on the offender’'s behavior and compliance with the
detaining facility rules of conduct and/or behavior management system.

The Secretary/designee shall provide the Juvenile Detention Facility Good Time
Recommendation form to the CSO for completion, noting the juvenile detention
facility/jail's good time recommendation (0%, 25%, 50%, 75%, or 100%) and documenting
the reason behind any recommendation less than 100%.

If no Juvenile Detention Facility Good Time Recommendation form is received within
seven (7) days of the offender being admitted to a JCF, the offender shall receive all good
time credit available while detained pending the disposition of his/her direct commit case.

To prevent the spread of communicable diseases, the Secretary/designee shall provide the
JDF/jail with a Pre-Transfer Health Screening form for completion and submission to the
Reception and Diagnostic Unit (RDU) upon admission. (Attachment B)

The Secretary/designee shall review all sentencing journal entries to:

1.

2.

3.

Ensure the offender’s sentence is properly calculated.

Ensure the sentence begins date, release date and conditional release end date is
accurate and correctly entered in the JCF electronic database system, after taking into
consideration available good time at the JCF, detention good time, and credit for time
served awarded.

Ensure any sentencing or calculation errors are promptly resolved.

Upon determining an offender has served his/her direct commit sentence while in detention/jail
and prior to admission to a JCF, the KDOC Legal Division shall be notified.

1.

The Legal Division shall be provided the legal documents, good time recommendation
form from the detaining facility and sentence computation for all sentences served in
detention/jail.

Once verified by the Legal Division, the CSO will be notified.
The Notice of Release (NOR) (Attachment C) and Conditional Release Contract (CRC)

(Attachments D) will be filed with the court by Secretary/designee and a copy provided to
other parties as required by law.

il Youthful Offenders Admitted to a Juvenile Correctional Facility

A.

Upon notification of any youthful offender to be admitted to KICC RDU, the following documents
shall be collected prior to admission:

1.

2.

Complaint;

Conviction Order;
Sentencing Order;
Pre-Sentence Investigation;
Police Report;

Criminal History;
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7. Affidavit;
8. Evaluation Reports;
9. Copy of birth certificate;
10. Copy of social security card; and
11. Any other information associated with youthful offender’s case.
B. KDOC “Juvenile Operations Only” policies, facility orders, assessments and programs shall apply

to youthful offenders.

C. The Secretary/designee shall track youthful offenders’ custody and good time for release planning
purposes.

D. Youthful offenders must be transferred/released from the JCF on or before their 18" birthday.

E. KDOC Juvenile Services and KDOC Adult Services shall coordinate the admission date and

transfer of youthful offenders.
DNA, Prints, Photographs, Warrants, Registration

A. The Secretary/designee shall verify through the Kansas Criminal Justice Information System
(KCJIS) and the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) that all offenders sentenced to or
placed at a JCF are in compliance with submission of the following to the Kansas Bureau of
Investigation (KBI), if applicable. Any noncompliance shall be reported to the JCF for corrective

action.
1. DNA,;
2. Offender registration form pursuant to the Kansas Offender Registration Act (KORA);
3. Fingerprints;
4. Palm Prints; and
5. Photograph of offender’s face and any identifying marks.
B. The Secretary/designee shall determine if there are any active warrants associated with offenders

sentenced to a JCF by utilizing the KCJIS and NCIC.
1. Upon admission of offenders with active warrants, the Secretary/designee shall:

a. Complete a hit confirmation to determine whether the law enforcement agency
(LEA) entering the warrant in KCJIS or NCIC wants a hold placed on the offender.

b. If a hold is requested, a copy of the warrant shall be requested from the entering
LEA.
C. Once a copy of the warrant and pick-up instructions are received by

Secretary/designee, the JCF and CSO shall be notified and provided a copy of the
warrant and pick-up instructions.

d. The JCF shall place a hold on the offender and shall communicate with the LEA
requesting the hold as to the offender’s release date.

Admission and Intake

A. The RDU shall receive all offenders committed to a JCF for an assessment, classification and
appropriate placement based on significant risks and treatment needs.
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B. A standardized RDU process is conducted with all offenders during the initial 21 days of admission
to the KDU. KJCC shall make housing assignments and targeted referrals to programs and
services consistent with the results of utilized risk/need assessments, screenings and evaluations.

1. Conditional Release Violators (CRVs) may not be required to fulfill the complete 21 days
of the RDU process, per the recommendation of the Classification Program
Director/designee.

C. Within three (3) days of admission, the superintendent/designee shall be responsible for
registering offenders meeting the criteria of the Kansas Offender Registration Act, who are
admitted, transferred, released or discharged from a juvenile correctional facility in accordance
with the Kansas Offender Registration Act (K.S.A. 22-4901 and amendments thereto) and IMPP
11-118D (Attachment E and F).

V. Program Planning
A. The RDU shall notify the CSO of the initial conference within three (3) days of admission which

shall be held within 21 days of an offender's admission to the RDU. During this conference the
earliest possible release date (EPRD) will be provided to the CSO.

1. The RDU Diagnostic Report shall include but is not limited to the following:
a. Account of the legal aspects of the case;
b. Summary of criminal history, if any;
C. Social history;
d. Mental health history;
e. Vocational interests and experience;
f. Educational status;
g. Religious background and interests;
h. Psychological screening;

i. JCO unit officer and other staff reports;
j- Staff recommendations;
k. Recreational preferences and needs assessment; and

l. Substance abuse.

B. A formal 180-day Conference/Staffing shall be held at 180-day intervals from the date of the initial
conference.
1. Notification of the 180-day Conference/Staffing shall be sent at least two (2) weeks in

advance of the conference to the offender’s parents or legal guardian with copies to the
committing court and the CSO, informing them of the conference date and time and
inviting them to participate.

2. Written copies of all conference reports shall be sent to relevant community agencies
within 21 days after the conference date.

VL. Release Planning

A. Release planning is to commence at the time of admission to the RDU and is a collaborative effort
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between the CSO and JCF staff and the offender's support network (i.e. parents/caregivers,
mentor, etc.) and is ongoing throughout the offender’s stay at the JCF.

The CSO and JCF staff must have contact by phone, in writing, e-mail or in person at least once
every 30 days.

JCF staff must have contact with the offender’s parent/caregiver/legal guardian by phone, in
writing, email or in person at least once every 30 days.

Prior to the pre-release conference the JCF will provide the CSO the following information:

1. Identifying information;

2. Behavior adjustment;

3. Program participation;

4, All copies of behavior incident reports from the previous 90 days;

5. Educational progress (academic and vocational);

6. Medical status;

7. Family contact, involvement, support;

8. Placement and aftercare recommendation;

9. Copy of GED or high school diploma; and

10. Coply ogl pre-release Youth Level Service/Case Management Instrument (YLS/CMI), if
applicable.

Pre-Release Conference

A.

Pre-release conferences are the same as 180 day conferences and all rules and procedures
apply.

1. A pre-release conference shall be scheduled 30 days prior to the offender's Earliest
Possible Release Date (EPRD).

2. The EPRD shall be verified prior to this conference.
3. The JCF shall contact the CSO 45 to 60 days prior to the scheduled release date.

At the pre-release conference, final decisions will be made for placement, case plan, release date
and transportation arrangements from the JCF.

At least 30 days prior to the anticipated release from the facility date of each offender, the
Secretary/designee shall:

1. Ensure the offender’s sentence and conditional release term is properly calculated per the
Release Review form (Attachment G), notifying the JCF of any discrepancies within 10
working days;

2. Promptly resolve any sentencing or calculation errors;

3. Ensure this information is correctly entered in the JCF electronic database system.

4. Determine whether the offender has any active warrants.
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D. Prior to release, the offender will sign the conditional release contract and case plan.
VIIL Notice

A. The JCF is required to initiate release notifications in the manner provided by statute using the
Notice of Release form. (Attachment C) Each natification shall identify the offense(s) for which
each offender has been adjudicated and is currently serving a sentence.

B. Prior to release, the JCF shall invite the school district in which the offender will be residing to
participate in planning for the offender's release or discharge, if the offender is required to attend
school. The JCF shall send the educational records and Notice of Release to the school district
the offender will be attending.

C. In the event the receiving school is unknown at the time of release, the JCF shall work with the
CSO to identify the school the offender will attend. Once identified, the JCF shall notify the
receiving school as required in Section B. above.

IX. Provision for Issuing Medications at Time of Release

A. At time of conditional release a 30-day supply of medication shall be issued.

1. A supply of less than 30 days may be issued if there are concerns regarding an offender’s
mental health and if there are concerns regarding abuse of the medication.

B. If circumstances arise after release and extended medication needs are required, the CSO may
contact the releasing facility to obtain an additional seven (7) to 14-day medication supply. This
will consist of the following:

1. A call to the facility identifying specific reasons and need of medication extension.
2. A follow-up fax requesting and reasons for medication extension.
3. The facility physician can approve up to a maximum of 28 days of medication.

X. Release Actions

A. Offenders shall be released on the day the commitment portion of their sentence expires except

as otherwise provided in this section.
1. The Secretary/designee may approve administrative placement of an offender when:
a. The offender’s release is scheduled for a weekend or holiday; and
b. The out-of-home community placement does not accept admissions on a
weekend or holiday.

B. Administrative placements shall be released on the next business day after his/her original release
date from the facility.

C. The Secretary/designee may approve the temporary release of an offender from custody in a JCF
to obtain medical services or to reintegrate the offender into the community.

1. The superintendent shall make the request in the form and manner established by the
Secretary/designee.

2. If approved, the offender shall be accompanied by an employee or other designated adult
upon release.

D. The superintendent/designee shall be responsible for confirming that arrangements have been

made to transport the offender on the actual day of release.
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XI. Discharge From Commitment

A. One month prior to the offender’s discharge date, the JCF shall contact the CSO to determine
whether a motion to revoke, modify, or extend conditional release has been or will be filed prior to
the expiration of their conditional release term.

1. If conditional release is not revoked, the offender shall be discharged by the Secretary
from any further obligation under the commitment upon:

a. Reaching the age of 23 years;

b. Being convicted as an adult while serving a term of incarceration at a juvenile
correctional facility; or

C. Completing the prescribed terms of incarceration at the JCF, together with any
conditional release.

B. At least 45 days prior to the offender’s direct discharge from the JCF and Secretary’s custody, the
releasing JCF shall notify the court and the county/district attorney of the county where the
offender was adjudicated of the pending discharge. (Attachment H)

C. The discharge shall operate as a full and complete release from any obligations imposed on the
offender arising from the offense for which he/she was committed.

NOTE: The policy and procedures set forth herein are intended to establish directives and guidelines for staff and
offenders and those entities that are contractually bound to adhere to them. They are not intended to establish
State created liberty interests for employees or offenders, or an independent duty owed by the Department of
Corrections to employees, offenders, or third parties. Similarly, those references to the standards of various
accrediting entities as may be contained within this document are included solely to manifest the commonality of
purpose and direction as shared by the content of the document and the content of the referenced standards. Any
such references within this document neither imply accredited status by a Departmental facility or organizational
unit, nor indicate compliance with the standards so cited. The policy and procedures contained within this
document are intended to be compliant with all applicable statutes and/or regulatory requirements of the Federal
Government and the state of Kansas. This policy and procedure is not intended to establish or create new
constitutional rights or to enlarge or expand upon existing constitutional rights or duties.

REPORTS REQUIRED

None.
REFERENCES
K.S.A. 21-2511, 22-4901, 22-4904, 38-2302, 38-2313, 38-2361, 38-2366, 38-2369, 38-2373, 38-2374, 38-2376,

38-2377, 38-2378, 75-5205
K.A.R. 123-6-101

CSS-03-114
ATTACHMENTS
Attachment Title of Attachment Page Total

A Juvenile Detention Facility Good Time Recommendation form 1 page
B Pre-Transfer Health Screening form 2 pages
C Notice of Release 1 page
D Conditional Release Contract 2 pages
E Offender Registration and NSOR Entries Flow Chart 2 pages
F Kansas Highway Patrol - NSOR/NCIC Protocol 1 page
G Release Review 1 page
H Notice of Discharge 1 page
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JUVENILE DETENTION FACILITY GOOD TIME RECOMMENDATION

Instructions: Please complete the form below, providing your good time credit recommendation and a brief
narrative supporting the basis for your recommendation, for all offenders sentenced to a juvenile
correctional facility while detained in your juvenile detention facility or jail (if over age 18).

Offenders may earn 100%, 75%, 50%, 25% or 0% good time, based on their behavior while
detained, pending admission to a juvenile correctional facility. Please return the completed form
within seven (7) days of offender being discharged from your juvenile detention center/jail, via fax

to:
KR, Records Department
ST Kansas Juvenile Correctional Complex
ahsas 1430 NW 25" Street
i Topeka, Kansas 66618-1499
ST e Phone: (785) 354-9800
Fax: (785) 354-9878
Juvenile’s Name: DOB:

Case Number(s):

County of Adjudication:

Please check one and retain any supporting documentation if your recommendation is less
than 100%.

1. 100% good time available:
Behavior was cooperative and positive while in detention.

2. 75% good time available
Behavior was sometimes cooperative and positive while in detention.

3. 50% good time available
Behavior was sometimes uncooperative and negative while in detention.

4. 25% good time available
Behavior was generally uncooperative and negative while in detention.

5. 0% good time available
Behavior was uncooperative and negative while in detention.

6. NO RECOMMENDATION concerning the award of good time.

Basis for recommendation - If recommendation is less than 100%, failure to provide basis for
recommendation will result in offender receiving 100% good time.

Signature and Title of Person Completing Form Date
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KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, JUVENILE SERVICES
Pre-Transfer Health Screening
(To be Completed Prior to Transfer to KJCC)

Please use this form to document an offender’s health condition prior to transfer to a juvenile correctional

facility
Offender’s Name Date Submitting Facility. Ph:
MEDICAL HISTORY
Chronic Health Conditions:
#H) Asthma Current medical or dental problems:
H Hyperlipidemia
H Seizure Disorder
) IDDM
E5)| HIV/AIDS
5] Pregnancy
Other/Explain:
Medication Dosage Frequency
MENTAL HEALTH HISTORY
Mental Health Diagnoses: Recent self-harm behaviors
#] Schizophrenia #IBipolar #) Yes ES) No If yes, explain:
#]  Major Depressive Disorder #)Borderline
#]  Psychotic Disorder #)Other
#]  Schizoaffective Disorder
TB SCREENING
Last PPD Date: Results mm F Negative 3] Positive If positive was tx completed?
Date:
TB Symptoms:
#H Cough > 3 weeks duration #H Night Sweats
#H Productive Cough #H Fever/chills/sweating
# Hemoptysis #H Shortness of Breath
H) Un-intentional weight loss ) Fatigue

Please have Transport Officer present this form in a sealed envelope to the juvenile correctional
facility officials immediately upon transfer of physical custody.
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KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, JUVENILE SERVICES
Pre-Transfer Health Screening
(To be Completed Prior to Transfer to KJCC)

SKIN

Does offender currently have or has the offender recently been treated for any of the following?

) Rash #) Draining wounds or lesions
) Itching #) Fever/chills/sweating
# Scalp sores #) Ectoparasites
#H Spider bite appearing lesions %] MRSA
lesions

If yes, explain:

INFLUENZA LIKE ILLNESS
Check all that apply:
#1 Cough #  Muscle aches # Other Symptoms
#) Sore Throat #l  Fever Date of onset:
#] Rhinorrhea #)  Chills/sweating
#] Respiratory congestion #)  Diarrhea
#) Fatigue #]  Vomiting
Temperature: Fever of unknown origin? #J Yes #JNo If no, cause of fever and
diagnosis:

To your knowledge, within seven (7) days prior to the offender’s symptoms, was he or she in close
proximity someone with pneumonia or flu-like symptoms?

# Yes
#) No

Signature of Nurse, Health Care Provider, or Health Officer Date

NOTE: Any offender with symptoms of acute respiratory illness and/or other serious communicable conditions as
determined by the Juvenile Correctional Facility medical staff, will not be accepted for transfer to a Juvenile Correctional
Facility until symptoms have resolved and offender has been without fever for 24 hours without use of fever reducing
medication and or the cause of their symptoms is known.

If you are uncertain whether the offender should be transferred, please call the Health Services Administrator at
the JCF to discuss the case further.

Please have Transport Officer present this form in a sealed envelope to the juvenile correctional facility officials
immediately upon transfer of physical custody.
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STATE OF KANSAS
KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS - JUVENILE SERVICES

NOTICE OF RELEASE
RELEASING FACILITY:
DATE:
JO’s NAME and ID #:
ADMIT DATE:
DOB:
SSN:
COUNTY OF COMMITMENT:
COMMITTING CASE#(s) AND OFFENSES:

TO: Honorable , County District Court AND

Principal ,

(Name of School/District)
This constitutes Notice of Release Planning for the above-named juvenile from the Juvenile Correctional Facility.
The type of Notice is indicated below.

Pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2376
Pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2374(f), 38-2376(b), and 38-2377(a)
Pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2374

45-day notification of Direct Discharge from JCF
45-day notification of Pre-matrix Release
21-day notification of Conditional Release

Time served at juvenile correctional facility Days
Detention/Jail credit: (credit for time served/days post disposition/pre-admission) / Days
Good time awarded: Days

ANTICPIATED DATE OF RELEASE:
RELEASE PLANNING: (includes family, school, etc.)

NOTICE TO COURTS: Pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2374, the court is notified that a permanency hearing as required by
K.S.A. 38-2365 must be set and held within seven (7) days after the juvenile’s release.

NOTICE TO SCHOOLS: Pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2374 and 38-2377, you are being provided additional information
and educational records concerning this juvenile who is still required to attend school.
(Check one)
O The required records are attached.
O The required records will be sent within five (5) days of the juvenile’s release.
Address Upon Release:
Contact Person With Whom Juvenile Will Be Residing Upon Release:
Anticipated Date of Enrollment in School:
Sex Offender Registration:
Name of Community Supervision Officer:
Conditions of Release:
Other Information:

Phone Number:

Superintendent Juvenile Correctional Facility Case Manager

Distributions:

21-day Off Grid
Non-drug Severity Level 1-5

45-day Notice
Drug Severity Level 1-3 felonies

All other 21-day Notices

Court Court Court

Court in county of residence (if not
residing in county of committing court.

Court in county of residence (if not residing in
county of committing court.

Receiving School District

Receiving School District

Receiving School District

Community Supervision Agency

Community Supervision Agency

Community Supervision Agency

Parent/Guardian/Aftercare Placement

Parent/Guardian/Aftercare Placement

Parent/Guardian/Aftercare Placement

County/District Attorney

County/District Attorney

ISP Unit

Law Enforcement

ISP Unit

ISP Unit
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CONDITIONAL RELEASE CONTRACT

Releasing Facility:
Address:
Telephone #:

FAX #:

L IDENTIFICATION DATA

Name:

Court Case No.

Address:

Family member who resides at this address:

Date of Admission:

County of Release:

County of commitment:

JCF Contact Person:
Community Supervision Agency:
Address:

Phone:

FAX:

Director:

Assigned Community Supervision Officer:

DOB:

Phone:

IL. TERMS OF CONDITIONAL RELEASE

A. Release Date:
B. CR Term:

C. Conditional release expires, resulting in a discharge from custody, pursuant to K. S. A. 38-2376, effective
unless a motion to revoke is filed, pursuant to K. S. A. 38-2375,

on or before this date.

D. Amount of Restitution Still Owed: (IF APPLICABLE)
1. County:
2. Case #:

1. CONDITIONS OF RELEASE

A

Education, Work and/or Training: If | am under the age of 18 or have not attained a GED, | will attend school in
compliance with the compulsory school attendance laws, or participate in an approved educational or
vocational/job training program. Otherwise, | will actively seek, obtain and maintain approved employment.
Legal: | will obey all federal, state, county, and local laws, resolutions and ordinances.

Case Plan: | will comply with all conditions listed in my Case Plan.

Community Supervision Agency: | will comply with all program guidelines as set forth by Community
Corrections. | will report as directed, attend and actively participate in all services and activities as required.

Reporting Requirements: | will contact my community supervision officer within 48 hours, excluding
weekends/holidays.

Sex Offender Registration:
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Iv. EXTENSION, REVOCATION, AND/OR MODIFICATION OF RELEASE CONDITIONS

Any violation of the Conditional Release Contract is a violation of State Law (K.S.A. 38-2375) and may result in court
action to extend the terms of your Release Contract and/or to modify the conditions of your Conditional Release Contract,
or to return you to the Juvenile Correctional Facility.

V. CONDITIONAL RELEASE PLAN

This plan provides the additional conditions of your release. You are expected to comply with each condition as
specified. Any change must be written and approved by your assigned community supervision officer worker. Your
assigned community supervision officer worker will monitor your compliance with these expectations.

VI. CERTIFICATE OF UNDERSTANDING & APPROVAL OF RELEASE PLAN:

| understand that | am responsible for compliance with my Conditional Release Contract and Case Plan.

Offender's Signature Date JCF Case Manager Date

JCF Superintendent Date

Parent/Guardian Date

Distribution: Offender, Parent/Guardian, Community Supervision Officer, Juvenile Correctional Facility, Court, Placement,

ISP Unit
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Offender Registration & NSOR Entries Flow
Chart

Admission

Within (3) business days of admission to a KDOC Facility:

Facility Transfers/Out to Court

Within (3) business days of transfer:

1. Designated facility staff shall complete a KORA Form,
or enter data into Ksort*.

2. Inform the offender of the procedure for registration,
and of their duty to register.

3. Require the offender to read, and sign the KORA form.

4. Provide (1) copy of the signed KORA, and
Acknowledgement forms to the offender.

5. Photograph the offender’s face, and any identifying
marks.

6. Obtain fingerprint, and palm prints.

7. Retain the ORIGINAL KORA Form in the offenders
Master File.

8. Image a signed copy into L-6 of offender’s electronic
file.

9. Send a copy of the signed KORA, Acknowledgement of
Offender, prints, and photograph(s) to the KBI.

*If information is being electronically submitted through
Ksort, follow KBI protocol.

Sex Offender Registration requires the
following additional steps: (within 3 business days)

1. Enter a new NSOR Record into NCIC, in
accordance with KHP standards. (Attachment B of IMPP
11-118D)

When an offender moves to a new facility (not new unit or cell
house within the same facility) or county jail for court appearance:

1. Designated Registration staff shall complete a KORA Registration
Update in Ksort per KBI protocol.

2. Sex Offender Registration requires a modification to NSOR within
(3 business days)

Designated Registration staff will follow KHP standards for
modifying the NSOR Record following KHP protocol (Attachment B,
of IMPP 11-118D).

Facility Release

Within (7) business days prior to offender’s release:

1. Designated facility staff shall complete a KORA Form, or enter
data into Ksort*.

2. Inform the offender of the procedure for registration, and of
their duty to register.

3. Require the offender to read, and sign the KORA form.

4. Provide (1) copy of the signed KORA, and Acknowledgement
forms to the offender.

5. Photograph the offender’s face, and any identifying marks.

6. Obtain fingerprint, and palm prints.

7. Retain the ORIGINAL KORA Form in the offenders Master File.
8. Image a signed copy into L-6 of offender’s electronic file.

9. Send a copy of the KORA, Acknowledgement of Offender, prints,
and photograph(s) to the KBI & law enforcement agency having
initial jurisdiction.

*If information is being electronically submitted through Ksort,
follow KBI protocol.

Sex Offender Registration requires the following
additional steps:

1. Clear NCIC entry once the law enforcement agency having
initial jurisdiction completes their NCIC entry following KHP protocol
(Attachment B, IMPP 11-118D)




Work Release

Within (3) business days of an offender’s placement in an
initial work release job, or changes employment

1. Designated Facility Staff shall complete a KORA Form
— Registration Update or enter Employment Update in
Ksort*.

2. Inform the offender of the procedure for registration,
and of their duty to register.

3. Require the offender to read, and sign the KORA form.

4. Provide (1) copy of the signed KORA, and
Acknowledgement forms to the offender.

5. Photograph the offender’s face, and any identifying
marks.

6. Obtain fingerprint, and palm prints.

7. Retain the ORIGINAL KORA Form in the offenders
Master File.

8. Image a signed copy into L-6 of offender’s electronic
file.

9. Send a copy of the signed, updated KORA, and
Acknowledgement of Offender to the KBI, and the law
enforcement agency having jurisdiction where the
offender maintains employment.

*If information is being electronically submitted through
Ksort, follow KBI protocol.

Sex Offender Registration requires the following
additional steps: (within 3 business days)

1. Enter a new NSOR Record into NCIC, in accordance
with KHP standards. (Attachment B, of IMPP 11-118D)
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Kansas Highway Patrol - NSOR/ NCIC Protocol

ENTERING A NEW NSOR RECORD

1. Run 50 state DMV check — print copies of all DL’s located (DQ-destination 21)
2. Run IIl Record — print all demographic information (QH & QR)

3. Run CCH records — print all demographic information (1Q)

4, Run KS CCH through web portal — print all demographic info (KCJIS)

5. Inquire subject through public offender registry — print info

6. Fill out entry worksheet(s) including base and supplemental

7. Flag proper ORI for entry

8. Enter all available critical/identifying information

9. Run subject by name/ DOB and print return for file* (QXS)

VALIDATING RECORDS

Follow steps 1-5 above, unless subject is incarcerated, and already entered correctly at the correct facility. If that is the case,
then just validate. No validation worksheet is needed for incarcerated subjects.

Complete Steps 8-9 and place all copies in file*

MODIFYING A RECORD

1. Once you have identified the information that needs to be modified you will need to open the modification screen and
enter the ORI, the OCA, Offender number, and the NIC numbers to identify which record you are modifying.

2. Then enter the information in the appropriate fields to be modified which includes an ORI field if that happens to be
what needs to be modifies.

3. Run the subject by name / DOB and print the return, also placing with the file*. (QXS)

CLEARING AN ENTRY

1. Open the clear form and enter the ORI, OCA, Offender number, and NIC numbers.
2. Run the subject by NIC number to make sure the entry was successfully removed from NCIC. (QXS)
3. Print a copy of the “No Record Found” response and place it in the file*.

*File in Imaged Documents tab L-6; to be retained for future KHP Audits.
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STATE OF KANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS — JUVENILE SERVICES

RELEASE REVIEW
Date:
Releasing Facility:
To: Deputy Secretary, Division of Juvenile Services

Effective 05-11-17

This constitutes notice of pending release for the below named juvenile offender from the Kansas Juvenile

Correctional Complex.

Name of Juvenile Offender: ID#:
Date of Birth: Committing Case Numbers:
SSN: County of Commitment:
Matrix Classification: Admission Date:
CFTS/Detention Good Time Days: Journal Entry Sentence:
Pronounced Release Date: Sentence Begins Date:

Date Of Sentence:
Proposed Date of Release: Earliest Possible Release Date:
Number of Days served at JCF(s): Good Time Days Awarded:
Sexual Offender Registration Status:
Placement Plan: (If no plan, explain.)

A review of the release plans of the aforementioned juvenile offender has been made and I verify that

he/she has completed all good time criteria requirements.

JCF Case Manager Date Supervisor of Case Management

Superintendent Date

Date

KDOC JUVENILE SERVICES CENTRAL OFFICE RESPONSE
Response Due Within 10 Working Days

From: Date

Proposed Action Is: Approved Disapproved
Reason Not Approved:

Further Information is Needed:
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(JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL FACILITY LETTERHEAD)

NOTICE OF DISCHARGE

Offender’s Name:

Case No(s):

District Court of Commitment:

This serves as a notice that the above-named offender who was committed to a juvenile correctional
facility from your county is discharged, effective on the date indicated below as per the order of the
County District Court on

Effective:

Superintendent Date

Distribution: Judge
Offender
Parent/legal guardian
Community Supervision Officer
DCF Area Office, CINC Division
JCF Master File



